Media Release

Six New Chief Executive Officers for Municipal Corporations


March 5, 2018, Kent House, Maraval – The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government is pleased to announce the appointment by the Service Commissions Department of Trinidad and Tobago of six new Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) for the Municipal Corporations.

Minister Haji Kazim Hosein hosted an introductory meeting yesterday afternoon, to acquaint the Chairmen with the new administrative heads who will be serving in their respective Municipal Corporations. The Minister stated, “This is an orientation session to encourage good relations between the political and administrative arms at the local government level. Whichever arm you belong to, the objective is service and putting people first. We have an opportunity here to begin on the correct footing, with an open line of communication, and we want to maintain that throughout the tenure of all local government practitioners.”

The appointments are as follows:

Municipal Corporation Chief Executive Officer Chairman
Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation Ms. Satragie Maharaj Chairman Henry Awong
Diego Martin Regional Corporation Mrs. Ann Hosein Chairman Susan Hong
Princes Town Regional Corporation Mrs. Magdalene Matthews Chairman Gowrie Roopnarine
Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation Mrs. Betty Ramdass-Ali Chairman Paul Leacock
Sangre Grande Regional Corporation Mrs. Dianne Lakhan Chairman Martin Terry Rondon
Siparia Regional Corporation Mr. Ravindranath Gangoo Chairman Glenn Ramadharsingh


Media Release

Minister Haji Kazim Hosein attends first Statutory Meeting of 2018 in the City of San Fernando


February 2nd, 2018 Kent House, Maraval – Minister of Rural Development and Local Government Haji Kazim Hosein along with Ministry officials attended the Statutory Meeting of the San Fernando City Corporation on Wednesday. This was the first Statutory Meeting held by the Council for 2018, and the ninth Municipal Corporation Statutory Meeting that has been attended by the Ministry. Statutory Meetings take place in every Municipal Corporation on the last Wednesday of each month and are open to the public.

Proceedings in San Fernando began with the observance of a moment of silence for the passing of former president of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago George Maxwell Richards as well as the mother of former Minister of Local Government Chandresh Sharma, Mrs. Shanthi Devee Sharma.

Minister Haji Kazim Hosein updated the Members of Council and Administration on the recently completed preliminary recruitment process for Municipal Police Constables conducted by the Statutory Authorities Service Commission. Increasing the complement of the Municipal Police Service is one pillar of local government reform, Minister Hosein stated, further saying, “We will grow the Municipal Police service to be 1,107 officers strong, and restore the sense of citizen safety and security in every community.”

The Minister also outlined the ongoing selection process for garbage selection services, for which the Ministry has engaged the Trinidad and Tobago Solid Waste Management Company Limited (SWMCOL). This process will now allow small contractors, with only truck, the opportunity to gain employment within their community.

Both these initiatives by the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government are components local government reform. These and other elements continue to move forward as the Ministry awaits the finalization of the legislative amendments required for full implementation.

Minister Hosein reiterated his commitment to working with the Council in San Fernando and all Municipalities saying, “Reaching the people, in every corner of the island, is the biggest component of local government reform. And together, we will get it done.”