Media Release

Six New Chief Executive Officers for Municipal Corporations


March 5, 2018, Kent House, Maraval – The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government is pleased to announce the appointment by the Service Commissions Department of Trinidad and Tobago of six new Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) for the Municipal Corporations.

Minister Haji Kazim Hosein hosted an introductory meeting yesterday afternoon, to acquaint the Chairmen with the new administrative heads who will be serving in their respective Municipal Corporations. The Minister stated, “This is an orientation session to encourage good relations between the political and administrative arms at the local government level. Whichever arm you belong to, the objective is service and putting people first. We have an opportunity here to begin on the correct footing, with an open line of communication, and we want to maintain that throughout the tenure of all local government practitioners.”

The appointments are as follows:

Municipal Corporation Chief Executive Officer Chairman
Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation Ms. Satragie Maharaj Chairman Henry Awong
Diego Martin Regional Corporation Mrs. Ann Hosein Chairman Susan Hong
Princes Town Regional Corporation Mrs. Magdalene Matthews Chairman Gowrie Roopnarine
Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation Mrs. Betty Ramdass-Ali Chairman Paul Leacock
Sangre Grande Regional Corporation Mrs. Dianne Lakhan Chairman Martin Terry Rondon
Siparia Regional Corporation Mr. Ravindranath Gangoo Chairman Glenn Ramadharsingh